Honoring Our Public Servants.
Connecting Citizens with Their Government.

May 3–9, 2015

Celebrated the first week of May since 1985, Public Service Recognition Week (PSRW) is organized annually by the Public Employees Roundtable (PER) and its member organizations to honor the men and women who serve our nation as federal, state, county and local government employees.

2015 Theme

Our theme for PSRW 2015 is Government Works. Public servants do amazing things across our great nation, around the world, and in your hometown and community. Through PSRW, we showcase their accomplishments and recognize the significant challenges they take on each and every day. We hope you’ll join us in telling these stories of how government works for the American people and about the types of work it does.

Attend, Connect, Share

Throughout the country, mayors, governors, agency leaders, communities and public service organizations participate in PSRW by issuing proclamations; hosting award ceremonies and special tribute events. Events in Washington, D.C. will include the third annual Public Service 5K run/walk, a government appreciation day at the Washington Nationals and a luncheon to celebrate the finalists for the Samuel J. Heyman Service to America Medals.

Meet the 2015 finalists

Faces of Government: Help us share positive stories of how government works by contributing profiles about government employees and their work and accomplishments.

Public Service White Board: Join our white board photo campaign on Facebook and Instagram to proclaim “I ♥ public servants because…” or “I’m proud to serve because....”.

PSRW Thunderclap: Sign up for the PSRW 2015 Thunderclap campaign where a few hundred supporters can spread a message of thanks to millions of social media followers.

Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, and join the conversation using #PSRW.

For additional suggestions and resources to participate in Public Service Recognition Week in your agency or community, visit our Celebration Toolkit page.

PSRW Message from President Obama

proclamation letter

Letter of support from the 2015 PSRW Co-chairs

U.S. Senate and House of Representatives Resolutions Honoring Public Servants

The U.S. Senate unanimously passed a bipartisan resolution introduced by Senators Heidi Heitkamp (D-North Dakota) and James Lankford (R-Oklahoma) honoring federal, state and local government employees, both civilian and military, for their dedication and continued service to the United States.

The resolution (S. Res. 160) cosponsors are Tom Carper (D-Delaware), Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin), Jon Tester (D-Montana), Chris Coons (D-Delaware), Kelly Ayotte (R-New Hampshire), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Benjamin Cardin (D-Maryland), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wisconsin), Cory Booker (D-New Jersey), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Bernard Sanders (I-Vermont), Patrick Leahy (D-Vermont) and Gary Peters (D-Michigan).

U.S. Representatives Rob Wittman (R-Virginia) and Gerry Connolly (D-Virginia) also introduced a bipartisan resolution (H. Res. 242) “expressing the sense of the House of Representatives that public servants should be commended for their dedication and continued service to the United States during Public Service Recognition Week.”