Honoring Our Public Servants.
Connecting Citizens with Their Government.

May 4–10, 2014

Celebrated the first week of May since 1985, Public Service Recognition Week (PSRW) is time set aside to honor the men and women who serve our nation as federal, state, county and local government employees and ensure that our government is the best in the world.

The theme for PSRW 2014 is Proud to Serve. We encourage government employees and leaders alike to take the opportunity to communicate the benefits and value of the work they do. To help spread the word, like us on Facebook and join the conversation on Twitter: #PSRW and #Proud2ServeUSA.

PSRW is organized annually by the Public Employees Roundtable (PER) and its member organizations. PER will kick off PSRW 2014 with its second annual Public Service 5K run/walk in Washington, D.C. Other feature events in Washington include a public town hall meeting with Cabinet secretaries, a Washington Nationals baseball game and a congressional breakfast to announce the finalists of the Samuel J. Heyman Service to America Medals.

Throughout the country, mayors, governors, agency leaders, communities and public service organizations participate in PSRW by issuing proclamations; hosting award ceremonies and special tribute events; and delivering messages about the value of public service.

Public servants deserve our thanks throughout the year and we invite you to continue honoring them for the work they do each and every day. Ideas range from sending messages of thanks to holding appreciation events to highlighting employee accomplishments on your website or newsletter. For additional suggestions, please download our How to Celebrate PSRW Guide.

Join the Public Service Recognition Week Thunderclap

Join the Partnership for Public Service and the Public Employees Roundtable in giving your support and thanks to our dedicated public servants who give so much to our community and country. Sign up to lend your voice to our Public Service Recognition Week Thunderclap, which will automatically send out a message thanking public servants on Sunday, May 4.

Sign up for the Thunderclap »

Senate passes resolution honoring public servants

March 25, 2014

The U.S. Senate unanimously passed a resolution introduced by Senator Jon Tester (Montana) honoring federal, state and local government employees, both civilian and military, for their dedication and continued service to the United States.

The cosponsors of Senator Tester’s resolution (S. Res. 397) are Mark Begich (Alaska), Sherrod Brown (Ohio), Tom Carper (Delaware), Carl Levin (Michigan), Brian Schatz (Hawaii), Mark Warner (Virginia), Kirsten Gillibrand (New York), Benjamin L. Cardin (Maryland), and Tim Kaine (Virginia).

Highlights from PSRW 2013

Public Service Town Hall

Thank you for joining us for the third annual Public Service Town Hall. Secretaries Shaun Donovan and Janet Napolitano, Acting EPA Administrator Bob Perciasepe and Acting GSA Administrator Dan Tangherlini discussed the value of government service, how to communicate that value to the American people and ways to support and motivate employees in this challenging and uncertain environment. In keeping with the 2013 PSRW theme, moderator Cokie Roberts, an ABC News and NPR News political commentator, asked panelists why they serve. Responses ranged from: “because I want to make a difference in the world” to “because the future can and should be better than the present” to “because my parents told me that you have to leave the world better than the one you were brought into.”

Part I

Part II

Letter from the 2013 PSRW Co-chairs